Call Us at +91 - 7234 999 901 or Mail Us at Cash On Delivery Available Across India over 20,000 + Pincodes and increasing daily
My Cart

Modern Indian Political Thought | Bidyut Chakrabarty & Rajendra Kumar Pandey - Sage Publications Indian Pvt Ltd

In stock



  • Binding: Paperback

  • Pages:472

  • Language:English

  • ISBN-10:9788132102250,

  • ISBN-13: 9788132102250




In contrast to the existing literature on the subject, this book carries a context-driven conceptualization of the major strands of political thought that emerged in India in the past two centuries. It focuses on India's peculiar socio-political processes under colonialism that influenced the evolution of such thoughts.


Key Features

  • Incorporates new ideas and issues that have been articulated, but not as extensively, in contemporary works on Indian nationalist thought and movement
  • Discusses the development and articulation of political thought by leaders like Gandhi, Tagore, Ambedkar, JP, Nehru and Lohia
  • Covers the Indian freedom struggle in detail


The distinguishing feature of this book is its linking of the text of Indian political thought with the context. In doing so, it challenges the ethno-centric interpretation of nationalism that despite its roots in western Enlightenment, evolved differently because of the context in which it was articulated.


This book is essential reading for undergraduate students of political science.





Early Nationalist Responses: Ram Mohan Roy, Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay, Dayananda Saraswati and Jotiba Phule


Moderates and Extremists: Dadabhai Naoroji, M G Ranade and B G Tilak


Mahatma Gandhi 
Rabindranath Tagore
B R Ambedkar


Jayaprakash Narayan
Jawaharlal Nehru
Muhammad Iqbal
M N Roy 
Ram Manohar Lohia
Subhas Chandra Bose
V D Savarkar
Pandita Ramabai
Nature and Processes of Indian Freedom Struggle
Landmarks in Constitutional Development during British Rule: A Historical Perspective
Socio-economic Dimensions of the Nationalist Movement


Culmination of the British Rule and the Making of India's Constitution 
Model Questions 

You can buy this from mycoursebook at best price



Bidyut ChakrabartyVice Chancellor, Visva Bhararti University, Santiniketan, West Bengal

Bidyut Chakrabarty is Vice-Chancellor, Visva Bharati, West Bengal. He was Professor in the Department of Political Science in University of Delhi till November 2018. He completed his PhD from London School of Economics and has been associated with teaching and research for more than three decades. He has taught in several prestigious educational institutions, such as the London School of Economics; Indian Institute of Management (IIM) Calcutta; Monash University, Australia; National University of Singapore; Hamburg University, Germany. Professor Chakrabarty has authored several textbooks and academic books. Among his publications are Public Administration: From Government to Governance (2017), Winning the Mandate: The Indian Experience (2016), Communism in India: Events, Processes and Ideologies (2014), Indian Politics and Society since Independence: Events, Processes and Ideology (2008) and The Governance Discourse: A Reader (2008).


Rajendra Kumar PandeyFaculty, Chaudhary Charan Singh University, Meerut

Rajendra Kumar Pandey is an Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science, Chaudhary Charan Singh University, Meerut, Uttar Pradesh. Besides earning his Masters, MPhil and Doctorate degrees from the University of Delhi, he also holds the prestigious Postgraduate Diploma (with summa cum laude: excellent grade) in Federalism, Decentralization and Conflict Resolution from the Institute of Federalism, University of Fribourg, Switzerland. In the past, Dr Pandey taught graduate students at the Delhi College of Arts and Commerce (1998– 2003),Hindu College (2003–09) (both University of Delhi), and the UGC-Centre for Federal Studies, Jamia Hamdard University, New Delhi. Besides publishing research papers in reputed journals, he has co-authored two books—Indian Government and Politics (SAGE, 2008) and Modern Indian Political Thought: Text and Context (SAGE, 2009). He has also made substantial contribution to develop self-learning materials for students of open and distance learning in different areas of political science and public administration. The current focus areas of his academic pursuits are public policy and governance with special reference to the issues of disaster management and human rights.

Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:

Modern Indian Political Thought | Bidyut Chakrabarty & Rajendra Kumar Pandey - Sage Publications Indian Pvt Ltd

Your Rating